Theatre Awards Shows (Part 2): Let’s Talk Tony Nominations

Yes, I did get up to watch the stream of the Tony Awards nominations this morning. This is the second year I’ve watched the nominations live. I find Tony season really exciting (this blog has clearly already established that I’m a theatre nerd, so this shouldn’t come as a surprise) and seeing the nominations is part of that!

I don’t feel I can really comment too much when it comes to the specific shows because I’ve only actually seen one of them (School of Rock), though it does make me really excited knowing that I have actually seen one of the shows before it was Tony nominated! I have watched clips and listened to cast recordings but I’m still not familiar with all of the shows. So I’m not really going to pass judgement on what should/shouldn’t be nominated.  I will also say, I know a lot less about the plays than the musicals, so I won’t really be commenting on them. I mainly just want to take a moment to talk about what I’m excited about this Tony season!

I have some mixed feelings this season because, from what I’ve seen in clips and heard talk about, there seem to be so many good shows. It definitely seems, though, like it’s going to be Hamilton‘s year, something made all the more clear with its 16 NOMINATIONS (and of course it broke another record)! That leads to my “problem” because I want Hamilton to win. I love the cast recording, I think Lin is incredibly talented and it just seems like an amazing production. BUT that leaves all the other amazing shows this season, that I would love to see win, and probably would win if they weren’t against Hamilton. So really, the problem is that there are just too many good options!

Looking back through the lists of nominees after the announcement I did notice that Hamilton is nominated in every musical category except revival, which pretty cool. I do think it will be a tight race in some of the categories and even if it’s a Hamilton sweep I think there’s still a chance for the other shows to hold their own. There is so much talent in this Broadway season, as there is every season, but there just seems to be something about this season! It’s all very exciting!

I am really excited for School of Rock and Spring Awakening. Prior to the announcement I had really wanted Alex Brightman, who plays Dewey Finn in School of Rock  to be nominated, and I’m SO GLAD he was. He gives an incredible performance as Dewey and it makes me so happy to see him recognized for it! From everything I heard and saw, the Deaf West production of Spring Awakening looked stunning, and I really wanted them to get to perform on the Tonys because for one thing I wanted to see them perform, but I also wanted it for them. Now I’m so excited that they’ve been nominated for Best Revival and that Michael Arden is nominated for Best Director!

Some of the other actors/actresses I’m really happy to see nominated (though this has more to do with the performers themselves, rather these specific performances with which I am less familiar) include Zachary Levi (Best Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role in a Musical- She Loves Me), Megan Hilty (Best Performance by an Actress in a Featured Role in a Play- Noises Off, Adrienne Warren (Best Performance by an Actress in a Featured Role in a Musical-Shuffle Along) and Laura Benanti (Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role in a Musical- She Loves Me). I’m also excited for all of the Waitress nominations and of course Hamilton.

I am kind of surprised that Tuck Everlasting didn’t get more nominations, aside from Best Costume Design, as I’ve only been hearing good things about it.

(And I still think they should  bring back the Sound Design Tony.)

I will say, now, after hearing the nominations, I’m even more looking forward to all of the performances that will be part of the Tony broadcast this year and can’t wait to see which songs will be performed!! I think I’m going to be spending a lot of time over the next little while watching a lot of show clips and listening to cast recordings getting ready for the big day! (not that that’s really any different from how I usually spend my time!)

Congratulations to all of the nominees! I can’t wait for June 12th to see who’s going to win (besides Hamilton)!

 

Leave a Reply

